Jean – Michel Basquiat legendado:

Jean-Michel Basquiat was a dear friend of mine. I met him right when he was becoming very famous. This documentary is a wonderful look into an extraordinary and complex mind. I remember the night he died as if it was yesterday. I thought for years, like many, that he died far too soon. Today I believe that he did what he was here to do then split. He was lovely, seductive, beyond his years wise and generous to a fault. So many friend died around that time that people like myself became sort of numb to it. We didn’t have time to process the extreme loss. That happened much later in my case and it continues to happen still. It makes me sad that his work is still not accepted by some racist art historians, The Museum of Modern Art in New York City or the Whitney Museum where they belong. Perhaps at this point they don’t deserve them. Hope you enjoy this great documentary.

Leave a Reply

